New Jersey Funeral Continuing Education Requirements And License Renewal

Meet your New Jersey funeral CE requirements with ease. If you'd like a refresher on what's needed to renew your license, see the requirements below.

6 Mandatory Hours
4 Elective Hours
10 Total Hours

Here's what you need to renew your New Jersey Funeral Director license.

The information below is a summary of the minimum requirements set forth by the State Board of Mortuary Science of New Jersey. For a more detailed requirements breakdown, please see the board's site.
If you hold Funeral Director licenses in multiple states, please make sure to check each state's requirements.

New Jersey Funeral Directors: Funeral Director

Total Hours Required: 10
Mandatory Hours: 6
Elective Hours: 4
Renewal Cycle in Years: 2
License Expiration Date: 02/28/2023
Next Education Due Date: 02/28/2023

Online Info

Mandatory subjects:
  • 1 hour - OSHA
  • 2 hours - Preneed funeral arrangements (must be completed in-person) 
  • 3 hours -  Funeral Directing Ethics and New Jersey Law and Rules relating to the practice of mortuary science (must be completed in-person)

Online Limitations

A maximum of 5 hours may be completed online or by home-study.

Roster

No roster required

Governing Agency

Name: State Board of Mortuary Science of New Jersey
Phone: 9735046425
Fax:
Address: 124 Halsey Street Newark, 07102

Good to know

Other facts and insights about completing your CE

Note: This license renewal information is provided as a convenience only and is subject to change at any time. It's ultimately the responsibility of the licensee to be sure that he or she is meeting all requirements for each license and corresponding renewal period.